Not Growing Weary in Well Doing

This is a message of encouragement! A message to remind you that you CAN do all things through Christ who strengthens you (Philippians 4:13). I’m here to encourage you to NOT give up on yourself despite what your situation looks like. Remember that you are more than enough!

Life can get hard sometimes, so I beg you to not give in to what the enemy may be telling you; things like……”look at you, you’re still in the same place,” “you’re spending so much money on your business and not even reaping a profit,” “why are you wasting your time?”, “you’re always messing up,” or “you’ve applied to all these jobs and no one is hiring you.” These may be some of the negative thoughts the enemy (the devil) tries to lie to you about. I know I’ve experienced these tormenting thoughts, and sometimes still do.

Can you relate?

I beg you to not give in to the lies of the enemy, but give in to what God says in His Word about you and your situation. Remember that you are enough! We all have experienced moments, times, days, weeks, months, and for some, even years in our life, when we’ve felt like we wanted to give up on something or even felt like we wanted to give up on ourselves. You’re not alone!

In times where I’ve gotten frustrated because of something that I’m pursuing where I wasn’t able to see the results of my efforts, God reminded me of the passage in Psalm 34:17 (NIV) where he says…

The righteous cry out, and the Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles.

Despite what you may be experiencing, God reminds us in His Word that He hears our cry and knows everything we’re going through. It may not seem like it, but when we genuinely pour out our hearts to Him, as we believe and trust Him, he is faithful to deliver us from our troubles.

Now, I’m not saying that you’re not going to feel uncomfortable or that your troubles or experiences are going to disappear immediately in your timing, but I am saying that God will deliver you from your troubles, as you put your faith and trust in Him….not the situation, a person, a book, a teaching, or even a pastor, but solely in Him.

Photo by RF._.studio on Pexels.com

Here are four practical action steps that have helped me stay grounded when I felt discouraged about a situation or felt like giving up that I believe can also help you to, if you apply them:

  1. Follow David’s example in Psalm 34:1 (NIV)

I will extol the Lord at all times; his praise will always be on my lips.

Just like David praised and worshiped God despite the fact he was running from Saul who was trying to kill him (commentary on Psalm 34, https://enduringword.com/bible-commentary/psalm-34/), he recognized that praising God was going to take his focus off of his situation.

When we choose to rejoice and keep a positive attitude in the midst of an uncomfortable situation, God see’s that and it is well pleasing to Him. When I’ve taken the time to praise God and to rejoice and to focus on what I’m grateful for, those are the times when my situation didn’t seem as bad as I initially thought. You should definitely try shifting your focus away from the situation and give praising God a try….I guarantee you will feel a lot better and recognize the situation is not as bad as you think.

2. Speaking words of life, not death over your situation.

Instead of saying negative things about yourself or your situation, start speaking affirming words like “I know everything is going to work out,” “I’m learning through this process,” “Great things must be on the arisen since I’m having to overcome this situation,” “God is giving me favor and wisdom.” Try this and see how your mindset starts shifting from “what if,” to all the positive possibilities of the outcome of your situation.

3. Remembering and reminding yourself that God is in control.

Despite how you may feel, remember that at the end of the day, God is in control. Whether we like it or not, He is the only one who can deliver us from a situation and even our own skewed thinking at times. When you have this perspective in mind, it will give you peace knowing that with Christ, ALL things are possible. Knowing that He loves me and only wants the best for me is what comforts me when weariness attempts to set in. Hopefully, knowing that will comfort you too!

4. Focus on what you’re grateful for, not on what’s not happening.

When you’re growing weary of doing good, think about the things you’re grateful for. It’s easy to focus our attention on what’s not happening in our life and to dwell on past situations, but when we choose to think about what we’re grateful for, the Holy Spirit brings those things to our remembrance (John 14:26). Other great scriptures to remember is 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 and Galatians 6:9-10

These four practical actions are what helps me overcome when I find myself growing a little weary. Throughout my life, the one thing God constantly shows me is that it’s one thing to feel despondent in a situation, it’s another thing to dwell in it and have a pity party. God doesn’t want us to dwell too long in our pity party or despondency because when we do, we give room for the enemy to speak lies to us that are not true.

From my heart to yours, if God can guide me and speak to me in my situations, then He can assuredly speak to you and walk you through yours. Be encouraged and know that God’s grace is made perfect in our weakness (2 Corinthians 12:8-10).

Stay strong, stay prayed up, and rejoice always! You got this!

Thank you for taking the time to read this message.  Please share with others as you’re led.

Thank you so much for reading this blog and embarking upon this inspirational journey of life with me!  If you were encouraged, inspired, or can identify with the message/story, please feel free to comment.  I’m sure others will be encouraged by hearing YOUR story.

You are following this blog (manage).


3 thoughts on “Not Growing Weary in Well Doing

  1. These action steps are so on point! I’ve been focused on declaring scripture more, and I’m seeing God move in response to my faith. Hallelujah! Thanks, Ryan, for this word of encouragement.

    Like

Leave a comment